Peachy Flippin’ Keen by Molly Harper @mollyharperauth

Posted April 11, 2018 by Anne in Book Review / 4 Comments

Review copy was received from NetGalley. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

  Peachy Flippin’ Keen by Molly Harper   @mollyharperauth Peachy Flippin' Keen by Molly Harper
Series: Southern Eclectic #1.5
Published by Pocket Star on April 9, 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 92
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads
AmazonAudiobookBarnes & Noble
One StarOne StarOne Star

A prank war erupts in Lake Sackett, Georgia and coroner Frankie McCready has to turn to the gorgeous but surly new sheriff for help in Molly Harper’s newest Southern Eclectic novella, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert.

The McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop has crickets running rampant in the store and hot sauce in the Snack Shack’s ketchup bottles. But as the county coroner, Frankie has enough on her plate without worrying about the increasingly mean pranks being played at her family’s business. And the arrival of Sheriff Eric Linden, both devastatingly attractive and painfully taciturn, is enough to push her over the edge.

Linden, who didn’t seem to get the memo about men in uniform and Southern charm, is condescending and cold, revealing absolutely nothing about his past as an Atlanta police officer, while also making Frankie’s job as coroner as difficult as possible. And with the town’s Fourth of July celebration coming up, it’s essential for McCready’s to be cricket-free and in good working order. Strangling the sheriff will make her job even harder. Can Frankie hold off the threats to preserve her own sanity?

 

It’s taken me a bit to get used to the locale and its unique characters but I’m enjoying the Southern Eclectic series.   This short novella focuses on Frankie McCready, the town coroner.

I was just confused by Peachy Flippin’ Keen. It is a setup of a situation, and it reads well.  We get to see some of the characters from the rest of the series.  It is, however, just the foundation, with the story barely started. There is really no romance or mystery concluded.

At first, I thought it was about 200 pages, and with the next one, Ain’t She A Peach being just over 300, I knew a romance couldn’t be over 500 pages. But this is only 92 pages. And I started the next, since it is also Frankie’s book, and there are portions of setup repeated which seem the same.

I enjoyed this novella. I love Molly Harper. Honesty though, I think Peachy Flippin’ Keen and Ain’t She a Peach should be one book. The rest of the story will be released June 12 and I’ll be reviewing it also.

 

About Molly Harper

Molly Harper worked for six years as a reporter and humor columnist for The Paducah Sun. Her reporting duties included covering courts, school board meetings, quilt shows, and once, the arrest of a Florida man who faked his suicide by shark attack and spent the next few months tossing pies at a local pizzeria. Molly lives in western Kentucky with her family.

She has written many great series including Jane Jameson, Naked Werewolves, Half-Moon Hollow, Sorcery & Society, Mystic Bayou, Bluegrass and Southern Eclectic.

Follow me

Anne

I can't really remember any time when I wasn't reading. I LOVE books and what they give me. It's an opportunity to learn new things, see new places,live different emotions in a "safe" way. It lets me live in a new world.

I read all types of books but my favorites are urban fantasy and romantic suspense.I like some romance and some action / adventure / mystery in everything.I like sex in my books but please, only between TWO people.Intimate conversation is equally important to the sex in a book.It lets me see the characters.The other thing I enjoy is humor.

Friend me at Goodreads.
Follow me

Posted April 11, 2018 by Anne in Book Review / 4 Comments


4 responses to “Peachy Flippin’ Keen by Molly Harper

    • This series is my first foray into her contemporary romance. I also have an audio of a standalone story of hers which is contemporary romance to which I have not listened (got in an audible sale of some sort). So far I like her paranormal books better. But that is probably because any book with Dick Cheney is a winner. 🙂

  1. Jen

    Like you, I had issues with this being just the start of a book. I’ve not read the next one yet, but I’m already not happy with how the publishers/author pushed this one out. I may skip novella 2.5 next time, and go with the full-length book. Nice review!

    • I was reading along enjoying this until it just ended. Sort of WTH? But when I read the next one, I just don’t understand why it isn’t one book. It rather upsets me it isn’t.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.