The Family Tree by Steph Mullin, Nicole Mabry @Steph_Mullin @NicoleAMabry #StephaniePezolano @avonbooks #LoveAudiobooks

Posted October 2, 2021 by Anne - Books of My Heart in Book Review / 6 Comments

Review copy was received from NetGalley. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


The Family Tree by Steph Mullin, Nicole Mabry @Steph_Mullin @NicoleAMabry #StephaniePezolano @avonbooks #LoveAudiobooksThe Family Tree by Steph Mullin, Nicole Mabry
Narrator: Stephanie Pezolano
Published by Avon on June 10, 2021
Genres: Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 412
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & NobleiTunes
One StarOne StarOne Star

The DNA results are back. And there’s a serial killer in her family tree…

Liz Catalano is shocked when an ancestry kit reveals she’s adopted. But she could never have imagined connecting with her unknown family would plunge her into an FBI investigation of a notorious serial killer…

The Tri-State Killer has been abducting pairs of women for forty years, leaving no clues behind – only bodies.

Can Liz figure out who the killer in her new family is? And can she save his newest victims before it’s too late?

A gripping, original thriller for fans of My Lovely Wife, Netflix’s Making a Murderer, and anyone who’s ever wondered what their family tree might be hiding…

When I got this for review and still on Netgalley, it says October 5th.  But now everything on Goodreads says June.  I read the blurb and had to read.  The concept sounded so fascinating and certainly suspenseful.

I have to say I wasn’t too happy with Liz, the main character.  Certainly, she had some shocks in learning new things about her family.  But she acted rather immature for 27, more like a college age student.  She wasn’t very kind to her parents. Liz was angry, impulsive and lied to people.

Liz also did many TSTL things, particularly sharing confidential information with lots of people she didn’t know,  after she promised not to talk about it.  I mean, not just one, more like 6 or 7.  She put her roommate in danger, not just herself.   I understand her need to get information but there are ways to do that without the things she did.  Travis was awesome – lending her his car and also offering several website options for various information and being on hand when she met with the FBI.

Her connection with the relatives she met was weird because she worried about whether they were safe and judging them.  But at least she did connect with some of them.  I would have liked to have a little more on the ones she barely met at the end.  And the end,  it was good for Liz but overall, it was kind of depressing.

 


The Family Tree by Steph Mullin, Nicole Mabry @Steph_Mullin @NicoleAMabry #StephaniePezolano @avonbooks #LoveAudiobooksThe Family Tree by Steph Mullin, Nicole Mabry
Narrator: Stephanie Pezolano
Published by Avon on June 10, 2021
Genres: Mystery, Thriller
Length: 11 hours, 52 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
AudibleAudiobook
One StarOne StarOne Star

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Narration:

This was my first experience with this narrator.  I think she captured the emotional timbre of Liz and her roommate, as well as other supporting characters.  There were distinct voices for different characters.  Liz sounded too young but she also acted immature.  I listened at my normal 1.5x speed.

Listen to a clip:

 

Rating Breakdown
Plot
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Writing
One StarOne StarOne Star
Characters
One StarOne Star
Narration (Audio)
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Overall: One StarOne StarOne Star
Follow me

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • C21-Spring

Posted October 2, 2021 by Anne - Books of My Heart in Book Review / 6 Comments


6 responses to “The Family Tree by Steph Mullin, Nicole Mabry