Dance of Stars and Ashes by Nisha J Tuli @NishaJT @bookouture @SecondSkyBooks #KindleUnlimited @SnyderBridge4‏

Posted February 19, 2024 by Robin in Blog Tour, Book Review / 2 Comments

Dance of Stars and Ashes by Nisha J Tuli

Review copy was received from NetGalley. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


Dance of Stars and Ashes by Nisha J Tuli @NishaJT @bookouture @SecondSkyBooks #KindleUnlimited @SnyderBridge4‏Dance of Stars and Ashes by Nisha J Tuli
Series: The Nightfire Quartet #2
Published by Second Sky on February 16, 2024
Genres: Fantasy Romance
Pages: 405
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads
AmazonAudibleLibro.fm
two-flames
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

In the jeweled city of Dharati, Zarya found passion and adventure for the first time. A mysterious stranger named Rabin helped to free the power within her—a dark, ancient magic that should not exist.

Now, Zarya learns Rabin’s true identity. A warrior prince, born to rule, he is as deadly as he is beautiful. He’s also insufferable. Arrogant and superior, with dangerous secrets of his own.

Zarya wants nothing to do with him. Terrifying demons are gathering beyond the walls and Zarya’s friends are rushing to complete a ceremony that will protect the city. Her mind is fixed on saving her home and finding the origin of her magic.

Dance of Stars is the second installment of the Nightfire Quartet, picking up almost directly after the events of the first book; we are in the city under some kind of magical attack.  Zarya is trying to figure out her magic, her heart and where she belongs in this new to her world.  There were some heavy revelations made in the previous book and Zarya will try to come to terms her her lineage and what trouble that could be later, if she makes it though this current crisis.  This is a book full of South Asian lore and an interesting take on what are basically vampires in the Rakshasas and some house politics.

I will say Dance of Stars brings more action and some small character developments.  Amrita is destined to be the Queen of the city and tied to its protection.  There is some great South Asian lore to go along with this and a magic ritual to tie her to the land that was incredibly interesting.  The aspect of the story dealing with her transformation was probably the most interesting to me and I wish we got to spend more time on it.  There is also an interesting storyline happening  surrounding the Chiranjivi (basically the X-men) and how all their individual magics worked together.

Zarya is really quite young and grew up mostly in isolation.  She struggles dealing with complex emotions and social dynamics.  Because of this, she sometimes acts so immaturely when emotional issues arise, possibly over reacting or avoiding.  While there seemed to be a slight love triangle, that is resolved quickly enough that it isn’t a major part of the story.  Most of the story is focused on the keeping the city safe, Zarya’s forbidden magic and coming to terms with some of the emotional baggage she is carrying after Row kept her hidden for so many years.  I would have liked to delve a little more into the magic aspects of this world though.

The things I like the most in the story are Zarya’s friendships.  She and Yasen are best friends and have each others backs, especially when they are getting each other into trouble.  I also really liked how much Zarya was trying to look out for Amrita and make sure she gets some fun in before making such a large sacrifice to protect the city.  I question some of the magic and I’m pretty sure there are a few more betrayals that will come about but the friendships are what stick out.  The romance aspect isn’t really ringing home for me yet and that could just be the age gap currently seems obvious since Zarya needs a little more maturity in my opinion.

This ended on a bit of a cliffhanger of sorts.  It will be interesting to see where the author takes the story next.  This is going to work well for those who like found families and friend banter, along with secret magic discoveries in lore that isn’t widely used.

About Nisha J Tuli

Nisha is a Canadian fantasy romance author, whose books feature kick ass heroines, swoony love interests, and slow burns with plenty of heat. Fans of The Princess Bride and A Court of Thorns and Roses will find themselves at home in her worlds.

She loves to draw upon her Indian heritage to bring her stories to life, weaving together vibrant and compelling characters, settings, and plotlines. Nisha wants to leave her readers breathless and begging for more and enjoys making her characters suffer before giving them a much-deserved happily ever after.

When she’s not writing or exploring, Nisha can be found enjoying travel, food, and camping with her partner, two kids, and their fluffy Samoyed

Rating Breakdown
Plot
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Writing
One StarOne StarOne Star
Characters
One StarOne StarOne Star
Dialogue
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Overall: One StarOne StarOne Star
Robin
Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Instagram
Twitter
Visit Us
Follow Me
RSS

Posted February 19, 2024 by Robin in Blog Tour, Book Review / 2 Comments


2 responses to “Dance of Stars and Ashes by Nisha J Tuli

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.