Revenant by Larissa Ione

Posted January 29, 2015 by Anne - Books of My Heart in Book Review / 4 Comments

Review copy was received from NetGalley. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Revenant by Larissa IoneRevenant Series: , Lords of Deliverance #6
Published by Grand Central Publishing on 12-16-2014
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star


For five thousand years, Revenant believed he was alone in the world, a fallen angel beyond any redemption. Now he finds he has a twin brother who had all the light and love Revenant was denied. Caught in a tug of war between Heaven and Hell, he must weigh his thirst for revenge against his desire for a mysterious female named Blaspheme—a female whose very origins could deliver him into salvation . . . or destruction.


Blaspheme has a deadly secret: she's the forbidden offspring of an angel and a fallen angel. Hunted by both heavenly and satanic forces, she has survived only by laying low and trusting no one. When Revenant claims he can save them both, how can she possibly believe him? But the powerful angel is persistence incarnate and for Blaspheme, there's no place she can hide in Heaven or Hell where he won't find her . .

REVENANT is a fitting mesh of the Demonica and Lords of Deliverance series and it’s good to see some of the characters I have long loved. It focused on the new couple and their connections and barely mentioned some of my favorites, like Ares and Kynan.  Luckily, the hospital and Eidolon are always in the thick of things.  The main characters in REVENANT have difficult pasts and have been massively deceived.   They have both had difficulty with trusting others.

These series feature many people who are deceived, tortured in the worst ways, then get their HEA.  If this wasn’t paranormal, it would be difficult to swallow some of the things which happen. This is not a standalone book, in my opinion, or at least, it is not where I would start since it helps so much to know the background, more of the world and the characters. Read the Demonica series which leads right into the Lords of Deliverance series. They are all 4 to 5 star reads; there’s not a bad one in the bunch.

If you have enjoyed the rest of the series, you will likely enjoy REVENANT.  I was sort of numbed to the horrors of torture since it is standard in this series.  That would be my only reservation, since it felt like the rest of the series. While the details were different, it felt like the same story, so it was almost too easy. That made it a comfortable, quick read. But I did FEEL while reading and even shed a few tears.

Something I really love about this series is the caring and family dynamic. These people are willing to look for unusual solutions to support their loved ones.  They aren’t wimps about it; they are willing to suffer for others. Even though some of the story is dark, the ending finds problems solved and the couple together so it is satisfying. REVENANT also resolves some big problems happening throughout the series.

Sexual content :  Graphic Sex,  rape and torture mentioned


About Larissa Ione

Air Force veteran Larissa Ione traded in a career as a meteorologist to pursue her passion of writing. She has since published dozens of books, hit several bestseller lists, including the New York Times and USA Today, and has been nominated for a RITA award. She now spends her days in pajamas with her computer, strong coffee, and supernatural worlds. She believes in celebrating everything, and would never be caught without a bottle of Champagne chilling in the fridge…just in case. She currently lives in Wisconsin with her U.S. Coast Guard husband, her teenage son, a rescue cat named Vegas, and her very own hellhound, a King Shepherd named Hexe.

Anne - Books of My Heart
Follow me
Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Visit Us
Follow Me

Posted January 29, 2015 by Anne - Books of My Heart in Book Review / 4 Comments

4 responses to “Revenant by Larissa Ione