Audio: The Rise of Magicks by Nora Roberts @NRoberts_atHome @justjuliawhelan #BrillianceAudio

Posted February 12, 2020 by Melanie in Book Review / 20 Comments

Audio: The Rise of Magicks by Nora Roberts @NRoberts_atHome  @justjuliawhelan #BrillianceAudioThe Rise of Magicks by Nora Roberts
Narrator: Julia Whelan
Series: Chronicles of The One #3
Published by Brilliance Audio on November 26, 2019
Genres: Dystopia
Length: 14 hours 3 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
AmazonAudibleLibro.fmBarnes & NobleApple
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

After the sickness known as the Doom destroyed civilization, magick has become commonplace, and Fallon Swift has spent her young years learning its ways. Fallon cannot live in peace until she frees those who have been preyed upon by the government or the fanatical Purity Warriors, endlessly hunted or locked up in laboratories, brutalized for years on end. She is determined to save even those who have been complicit with this evil out of fear or weakness—if, indeed, they can be saved.

Strengthened by the bond she shares with her fellow warrior, Duncan, Fallon has already succeeded in rescuing countless shifters and elves and ordinary humans. Now she must help them heal—and rediscover the light and faith within themselves. For although from the time of her birth, she has been The One, she is still only one. And as she faces down an old nemesis, sets her sights on the enemy’s stronghold, and pursues her destiny—to finally restore the mystical shield that once protected them all—she will need an army behind her…


This is the third and final book in The Chronicles of The One trilogy. This is a series you must read in order to follow the storyline. So this follows Fallon Swift, who was born in an apocalyptic world where the Doom has wiped out a large portion of the population of the planet. Then you have the people who survived, many of them become supernatural creatures, shifters, fairies, elves, witches and more. There are also people who stay strictly human.

Fallon is destined to lead the light, people who want to see happiness for all. She must help protect these people from those who seek to just harm. There are the Dark Uncannies, supernaturals who use their new powers just to take what others have, the Purity Warriors, who are humans who use religion to demonize anyone with supernatural powers and then raiders who are sometimes a mixed group and just take from the weak because they can.

After reading all three books, I have to say I just fell in love with all the characters in these stories. This is my first time reading Roberts and I love how she creates characters. I really feel an intense love and sometimes an intense dislike for the characters she developed with these stories. I really rooted for them to win each fight and I mourned the loss of the ones who didn’t make it, just like the characters did. I like watching Fallon, Dillion, Mick and the others grow from children to warriors.

Ending a series can be extremely difficult. I’ve read some I loved and many that really disappointed me. I can strongly say this series falls into the first category. I thought Roberts did a great job bringing the story to a great ending. I’m sure it will not be the last series I read by Nora Roberts.


Julia Whelan does an amazing job with the narration of this series. It has a very large cast of diverse characters, from children to an extremely old Malik. She really made you feel all the different emotions of the characters from anger to sadness to joy. I really feel that she brought something extra to make this story come alive in her telling of it.

Listen to a clip: HERE

About Julia Whelan

Julia Whelan is a screenwriter, life-long actor, and award-winning audiobook narrator. She graduated with a degree in English and Creative Writing from Middlebury College and Oxford University. While in England, her flirtation with tea blossomed into a full-blown love affair, culminating in her eventual certification as a tea master. When not writing her own books, you can find her reading other people’s out loud into a microphone.

About Nora Roberts

Nora Roberts was born in Silver Spring, Maryland, the youngest of five children. She married young and settled in Keedysville, Maryland where she worked briefly as a legal secretary. After her sons were born she stayed home and tried every craft that came along. A blizzard in February 1979 forced her hand to try another creative outlet. She was snowed in with a three and six year old.

Born into a family of readers, Nora had never known a time that she wasn’t reading or making up stories. During the now-famous blizzard, she pulled out a pencil and notebook and began to write down one of those stories. It was there that a career was born. Several manuscripts and rejections later, her first book, Irish Thoroughbred, was published by Silhouette in 1981.

Nora met her second husband, Bruce Wilder, when she hired him to build bookshelves. They were married in July 1985. Since that time, they’ve expanded their home, traveled the world and opened a bookstore together.

Through the years, Nora has always been surrounded by men. Not only was she the youngest in her family, but she was also the only girl. She has raised two sons. Having spent her life surrounded by men, Ms. Roberts has a fairly good view of the workings of the male mind, which is a constant delight to her readers. It was, she’s been quoted as saying, a choice between figuring men out or running away screaming.

Nora is a member of several writers groups and has won countless awards from her colleagues and the publishing industry. Recently The New Yorker called her “America’s favorite novelist.”

Rating Breakdown
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Narration (Audio)
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Follow me
Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Visit Us
Follow Me

Posted February 12, 2020 by Melanie in Book Review / 20 Comments

20 responses to “Audio: The Rise of Magicks by Nora Roberts

  1. Jen

    OKay, all three books are out now… I’ll have to give it a go. I own the first two, but was waiting. Thanks!!

  2. Lorna

    I loved all three of these books and I was so sorry to see the series end. My favorite series by her is her In Death series under her other name. They are mysteries that start in the year 2058. I’ve read like 37 of them.