Audio: Raven Flight by Juliet Marillier #JulietMarillier @McMeireKat @TantorAudio #LoveAudiobooks

Posted May 11, 2020 by Robin in Book Review / 16 Comments

Review copy was received from Publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Audio: Raven Flight by Juliet Marillier #JulietMarillier @McMeireKat @TantorAudio #LoveAudiobooksRaven Flight by Juliet Marillier
Narrator: Henrietta Meire
Series: Shadowfell #2
Published by Tantor Audio on April 28, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Length: 13 hours, 12 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
AmazonAudibleLibro.fmBarnes & NobleApple
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Neryn has finally found the rebel group at Shadowfell, and now her task is to seek out the elusive Guardians, vital to her training as a Caller. These four powerful beings have been increasingly at odds with human kind, and Neryn must prove her worth to them. She desperately needs their help to use her gift without compromising herself or the cause of overthrowing the evil King Keldec.

Neryn must journey with the tough and steadfast Tali, who looks on Neryn's love for the double agent Flint as a needless vulnerability. And perhaps it is. What Flint learns from the king will change the battlefield entirely—but in whose favor, no one knows.

Raven Flight is the second book of the Shadowfell series, recently released on audio. I liked the first book of the series Shadowfell enough to give the second book a try, plus I’ve loved most things I’ve read by Juliet Marillier so chances were high this book would work better for me and it did.

Neryn has figured out what she is and what part she will have to play in the upcoming war. She has found a home and people who care for her in the rebels. Neryn thinks about Flint often but knows that now is not the time for that dream.

Flint is a double agent close to the Evil King and the rebellions best source of information. He can’t be tied down by love just yet and if Neryn wants the hope of a life with Flint, she will need to learn how to control her gift and find four of the most powerful Fae in the North, South, East and West. So there is a bit of longing and pining but in a good I’m-not-tired-of-it-at-all kind of way.

Raven Flight worked better for me because Neryn is coming into her own. The set up has been made and this time around we get to see more of the kingdom but Neryn is stronger and surer of herself. She can fight, she can help to defend herself, she also doesn’t spend half the book ill. All big wins in my book.

I also enjoyed getting to meet two of the very different but equally powerful fae. The Hag of the Isles or as I like to think of her a Sea Witch and a Fae dude asleep for decades possibly centuries, I like to think of him as sleeping beauty but in a cold, stony kind of way. Neryn must learn both the ways of the water and the ways of stone from these two creatures as part of her journey to become a caller. She must learn to master it all in a very short period of time if the rebels are to have a chance and keep all of their forces intact.

I enjoyed this world, well at least the fae creatures we meet along the way. I enjoy hating the evil King and his equally evil Queen. They seem to be a match made in hell really and completely perfect for one another.

The story is much better. This is a slower moving young adult novel; it has the air of campfire story passed down through generations, the beginnings of a fairy tale to it. It does have some limitations as most of the story is through Neryn’s experiences with just a few snippets from Flint’s PoV. There was an important death off page that I wanted a little more closure on but other than that I really don’t have many complaints about this book in the series.

“Look forward, not back,” the Hag said. “All is change. Do not regret. Instead, learn.”

“cherish what you have, for in an instant it can be gone. And when it’s gone, let the memory not be a weight that drags you down, but a bright light leading you forward.”


Henrietta Meire has the perfect voice for this series.  The slight accent she has works very well for some of the otherness of the series.  I listened to this at my usual 1.5x speed.

Listen to a clip:  HERE

About Juliet Marillier

Juliet Marillier was born July 27, 1948 in Dunedin, New Zealand and grew up surrounded by Celtic music and stories. Her own Celtic-Gaelic roots inspired her to write her first series, the Sevenwaters Trilogy. Juliet was educated at the University of Otago, where she majored in music and languages, graduating BA and a B Mus (Hons). Her lifelong interest in history, folklore and mythology has had a major influence on her writing.

Juliet is the author of twenty historical fantasy novels for adults and young adults, as well as a book of short fiction. Juliet’s novels and short stories have won many awards.

Juliet lives in a 110 year old cottage in a riverside suburb of Perth, Western Australia. When not writing, she is active in animal rescue and has her own small pack of needy dogs. She also has four adult children and seven grandchildren. Juliet is a member of the druid order OBOD (the Order of Bards, Ovates and Druids.)

Rating Breakdown
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Narration (Audio)
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Visit Us
Follow Me

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Robin Audio20

Posted May 11, 2020 by Robin in Book Review / 16 Comments

16 responses to “Audio: Raven Flight by Juliet Marillier

  1. I have heard great things about this author but haven’t had the chance to read any of her work yet. This sounds like a great series to check out on audio!

  2. I’ve wanted to give this author a try. Glad to hear this worked out and that’s it’s now on audio.